DISMISSALS IN CRICKET – CRICK ACADEMY

In cricket the word DISMISSAL means when the batsman is out. According to the rule book of cricket after dismissal of the batsman (striker/runner),the player need to leave the field and return to the pavilion. There are 11 types of dismissals in cricket. 
They are -:
BOWLED
 
If a delivery bowled by the bowler strikes the stumps directly or by touching the bat and dislodges the bails over the stumps then the striker is declared as OUT. This is one of the most usual dismissal in cricket.
CAUGHT
 
If the batsman hits the ball or the ball touches the gloves of the batsman and is caught by the fielder or wicket keeper before hitting the ground,then the striker declared as OUT.
RUN OUT
 
If the fielder or wicket keeper removes the bails from the stumps while the batsmen are running from one end of the pitch to another and the batsman fails to enter into the crease before the removal of the bails, then he is declared as OUT.
LEG BEFORE WICKET (LBW
 
If the ball hits the pad of the batsman and the player doesn’t offer any shot then he could be considered as LBW (Leg Before Wicket) .There are mainly four conditions upon which the umpire has to make his decision whether the player should be out or not. The conditions are -:
 
1.   The ball must pitch in line of the wickets or outside the off stump.
 
2.   The impact of the bowl must be within the line of stump or atleast 50 % of it.
 
3.   There should not be any type of edge from the bat (inside/outside).
 
4.   The ball must hit the stump.
HIT WICKET
 
If the batsman dislodges his own wickets either with his bat or body, then the batsman is declared as OUT.
STUMPED OUT
 
If the batsman leaves the crease to play a shot and misses it, at the same time the wicket keeper collects the ball and takes the bails off or dislodges the stumps, then the batsman is STUMPED OUT
TIMED OUT
 
In cricket if a new batsman delays for more than 3 minutes to enter into the field after the dismissal of the previous batsman, then it is declared as OUT.
HANDLING THE BALL
 
If the batsman handles the ball without the permission of the bowling team and the bowling team appeals for the same then the batsman is declared as OUT. But as seen till date the batsman is only given out if handles the ball intentionally.
HITTING THE BALL TWICE
 
If the batsman intentionally hits the ball with his bat for the second time, then the batsman is given OUT. But if he stops the ball while rebounding and hitting the stumps then it is not considered as OUT.
OBSTRUCTING THE FIELD
 
If the batsman obstructs the fielder either by action or words during the game, then the batsman is given out for Obstructing the field. By this the game continues in a fair way without any obstruction.
RETIRED
 
This is mainly of two types RETIRED HURT and RETIRED OUT. In Retired hurt the batsman leaves the field due to some injury or illness and can continue his innings after the dismissal of another batsman. In Retired out the batsman can also opt to leave the field but can continue the innings only if the fielding team gives the permission to do so.
CHINMAY NANDA

About the author

Chinmay Nanda is a engineering student and also a big cricket enthusiast who follows and covers cricket very closely .Because of the love and passion he has for the game he started to write articles about different aspects of cricket. He is the founder of CRICK ACADEMY and also one of the contributors for the blog.

Comments

  1. whoah this blog is magnificent i love reading your posts. Keep up the good work! You know, a lot of people are looking around for this info, you can aid them greatly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *