India vs Sri Lanka 2nd ODI, JANUARY 2023 – Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune (Maharashtra)

India faced Sri Lanka in the second game of the T20i series. The action shifts to the MCA Stadium in Pune. The Indian team looked to take an unassailable lead in the 3-match series.

The Men In Blue were extremely pleased after securing a win in the previous closely tied encounter.

Batting is an area they would look to tighten their screws in. To the joy of Indian fans pacers Umran Malik and Shivam Mavi bowled their hearts out to set the tone.

India vs Sri Lanka 2nd T20I PLAYING XI

The Indians made two changes in Arshdeep Singh for Harshal Patel and Rahul Tripathi for Sanju Samson. Sri Lankan team remain unchanged.

IND :Suryakumar Yadav,Rahul Tripathi,Shubman Gill,Axar Patel,Deepak Hooda, Hardik Pandya (C), Ishan Kishan (Wk),Yuzvendra Chahal,Shivam Mavi,Arshdeep Singh,Umran Malik.

SL :Bhanuka Rajapaksa,Charith Asalanka,Pathum Nissanka,Dhananjaya de Silva,Dasun Shanaka (C),Chamika Karunaratne,Wanindu Hasaranga,Kusal Mendis (Wk),Kasun Rajitha,Maheesh Theekshana,Dilshan Madushanka.

India vs Sri Lanka 2nd T20I : PITCH REPORT

India vs Sri Lanka 2nd T20I was held at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune (Maharashtra). MCA is one of the venues where you would bat first. The square was even on both sides. With less dew, it would be windy which would assist the spinners.


India won the toss and Hardik Pandya opted to field.


Hardik Pandya started off the proceedings with new ball for India. Only 5 captains have taken the new ball for India, Pandya being one of them.

Some early movement for both Arshdeep and Hardik was found. Arshdeep was found guilty of bowling 3 no-balls on the trot, which earned Sri Lanka a 19-run over.

The Sri Lankan batters scored 55 runs in the powerplay without losing any wickets. Spinners had to be brought on to handle the leakage.

India drew first blood, thanks to a review call which made Kusal Mendis depart after 52. Umran dismissed Rajapaksha in the next over to his express pace.

The spinners did a decent job to concede the runs.

Sri Lanka showed some resistance with Charith Asalanka scoring 37 off 19. However, Umran in his 3rd over picked two wickets to push the batting side back 138-6.

Dasun Shanaka showed character and formed a 68 run partnership off 27 balls with Karunaratne.

The captain himself scored a 22 ball 56 which included 2 fours and 6 sixes. Sri Lanka ended up with 6-206 in their quota of 20 overs.

Indian bowlers disappointed and consumed 77 runs in the last 5 overs.


India got off to a sloppy start with losing 3 wickets in the first 13 balls. Sri Lanka got the better of the top order. The Lankan bowlers restricted India 39-4 in the powerplay.

Suryakumar Yadav looked to build a partnership with Deepak Hooda but the latter succumbed leaving the team at 57-4.

What followed next was nothing short of a miracle. Suryakumar Yadav and Axar Patel stitched together a whopping 91 run partnership. Axar got to his fifty in just 20 balls and Surya in 33.

The partnership ended with SKY’s exit at 148-6. In walked Shivam Mavi, who was batting for the first time in International Cricket. He chipped in with 15 ball 26 run cameo.

With 21 needing off the final over, the captain, Dasun Shanaka stepped in to the attack. He had to defend the same number of runs that he had scored in the final over of the Lankan innings.

However, 21 was too big for Indians as Sri Lanka won the game by 16 runs.

This win might have leveled the series for Sri Lanka but there were only positives for India. You don’t usually see a team go from 57-5 to 190-8.

The Indian lower order did try their level best to clinch it. But, it was their death bowling that hurt them yet again.

We move on to the final game and decider of the series on Saturday, January 7.

Fact: In the 13 T20s played at MCA stadium since 2021, teams batting first have won 10 times.
Fact: Sri Lanka’s last T20I win against India in India, came on 9th February 2016 in Pune.

Fact: Arshdeep Singh bowled five no balls which are the joint most by any bowler in a T20I and most by an Indian bowler.

Fact: 91 stand for Surya & Axar – highest for India for the sixth wicket or below in T20Is


Dasun Shanaka


About the author

Snehasish Pattanayak is an avid cricket follower. A student who is currently pursuing B.Tech , he first came across the game of cricket in 2007 when India won the inaugural T20 World Cup , since then there has been no looking back ."Cricket is my first love",says Snehasish.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *